AATG Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

Welcome to the DEI Committee Page!

The DEI Committee works with the AATG mission and with the Board of Directors to promote inclusivity, diversity, and equity within all aspects of our profession. We'll use this space to share our work, helpful resources, and all things related to DEI and AATG.

AATG Statement of Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) recognizes and appreciates the importance of creating an environment in which all members feel valued, included, and empowered. The AATG recognizes that each member’s unique experiences, perspectives, and viewpoints add value to the AATG’s ability to create and deliver the best possible service to our members.

With the full understanding that our individual social, ethnic, economic, and cultural identities shape and influence our experiences and perspectives, the AATG will promote diversity, equity, and inclusion for all.

Diversity shall be defined as creating an organizational environment that honors the entities, experiences, and intersectionality of race, ethnicity, nationality, gender, sexual orientation, physical abilities, intellectual abilities, age, socioeconomic status, political beliefs, religious beliefs, and ideologies.

Equity shall be defined as understanding the myriad facets of people’s backgrounds and working to ensure fair access to services, opportunities, and resources.

Inclusion shall be defined as the promotion of fair, safe, supportive, healthy, and open engagement among the diverse community of AATG members.

DEI Committee

The AATG DEI Committee is selected by the president and is made up of not more than six regular members plus a chair. The chair is drawn from the Board of Directors and serves for two years. The committee members are evenly split between K-12 and post-secondary AATG members and each serve for two years.
  • Kelsey White
    Kelsey White
    Committee Chair
  • Chiann Tsui
    Chiann Tsui
    IB PYP Coordinator German International School of Portland 7190248
    Equity Officer
  • Carlos Burse
    Carlos Burse
    Teacher Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology 6785186715
    Committee Member
  • Jolene Wochenske
    Jolene Wochenske
    German Teacher Oregon Middle School
    Committee Member
  • Charles J. James
    Professor emeritus 608-238-5728
    Committee Member
  • S. Kye Terrasi
    Committee Member
  • Jennifer Bennett
    Jennifer Bennett
    B.A., M.A.T. Teacher of German and English as a New Language (518)788-1031
    Committee Member