Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

12/18/2018 » 1/21/2019
NGE Level 2, 3, 4 Late Registration

12/24/2018 » 1/1/2019
AATG Office closed

Member Accolades

Executive Council


Susanne Rinner
President (2018-2019)

University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, North Carolina

Susanne Rinner is Associate Professor of German at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She serves currently as program director of UNCG's German Program. With a focus on twentieth century and contemporary German literature, film and culture, her interdisciplinary research interests include cultural memory and social movements. Susanne is interested in modern language pedagogy and curriculum development, and she enjoys working closely with students in and outside the classroom. With her scholarship and teaching, she contributes to the mission of the liberal arts in higher education. Susanne has received numerous awards recognizing her scholarship, teaching, and service, including the AATG Friend of German Award.


Doug Philipp
Vice President (2018-2019)

Cheyenne Mountain High School
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Doug Philipp teaches German at Cheyenne Mountain High School in Colorado Springs, Colorado. He has been vice president, president, and currently is secretary/treasurer for the Colorado/Wyoming chapter. He serves as co-chair for the annual Colorado Sprachbad, is a member of TraiNDaF 2003, and has led numerous student trips to Germany. In 2017, Doug received the ACTFL Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLT (K–12).


Katrina Griffin
Treasurer (2016-2018)

North County High School
Glen Burnie, Maryland

Katrina Griffin teaches at North County High School in Glen Burnie, Maryland. She is a board member and past president of the Maryland-DC Metro AATG chapter and serves as a board member for the Maryland Foreign Language Association. A consultant for the College Board, Katrina is a Table Leader for the AP German Exam. Katrina was 2017 National Language Teacher of the Year, the first German teacher to achieve that recognition.


Cindi Hodgdon
Presiding Officer Assembly of Chapter Presidents (2016-2018)

Conval High School
Peterborough, New Hampshire

Cindi Hodgdon teaches German 1 through AP at Conval High School in Peterborough, New Hampshire, where she also leads the student exchange program to Salzburg, Austria. Cindi was named New Hampshire World Language Teacher of the Year in 2017. She is president of the Northern New England chapter of AATG and has organized an immersion weekend for chapter members, dinner meetings for teachers, and an immersion day for students.


Keith Cothrun
Executive Director

Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Keith Cothrun has served as Executive Director of AATG since 2012. Prior to the position at AATG, Keith served as director of World Languages and Cultures with responsibilities for AP German Language and Culture, as well as Chinese, Japanese, and Italian Language and Culture at the College Board. A past president of AATG and ACTFL, Keith taught German for 24 years building a thriving high school program and GAPP exchange in New Mexico. He currently serves as president of JNCL/NCLIS.


Iris Bork-Goldfield
Northeast Regional Representative (2018-2020)

Wesleyan University
Middletown, Connecticut

Iris Bork-Goldfield is Adjunct Professor and Chair of German Studies, at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. Her research interests include resistance and opposition in East Germany, methods for teaching languages and literature, and short films and their use in the language classroom. Her book Wir wollten was tun was published in Germany in 2015. Iris serves in the Goethe-Institut Trainernetzwerk and as Testing Chair in the Connecticut chapter.


Candis Carey
Central Regional Representative (2017-2019)

Crown Point High School
Crown Point, Indiana

Candis Carey teaches at Crown Point High School. She has taught German levels I, II, III, and AP/dual credit. She obtained her Bachelor's degree in German Education from Purdue University in West Lafayette. Candis has attended additional German teacher training in Leipzig, Berlin, Zürich, and Vienna. She has planned GAPP exchange trips with the Taunusschule in Bad Camberg and is the German club and Sophomore Class Sponsor at her school.


Albrecht Classen
Southwest Regional Representative (2017-2019)

University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Albrecht Classen is University Distinguished Professor of German Studies at the University of Arizona. He has been actively involved in the AATG since the early 1990s when he started to serve as President of the Arizona chapter. Albrecht served on the AATG Executive Council 1996-1997 and is a member of the Goethe-Institute Trainer Netzwerk. Since 1992, he has coordinated after school German language programs at elementary schools in Tucson, supervising undergraduate students teaching 3rd to 5th graders.


Beth Gulewich
Southeast Regional Representative (2016-2018)

Needham B. Broughton High School
Raleigh, North Carolina

Beth Gulewich teaches levels 1-5, AP, and IB German at Needham B. Broughton High School in Raleigh, North Carolina. There she maintains an active GAPP program with the Erasmus Gymnasium in Raleigh's Sister City, Rostock. From 2011-2014, Beth led the North Carolina AATG chapter as vice president and president with the initiative "Supporting and Strengthening German in North Carolina", which focused on STEM and articulation between K-12 and college programs.


Siggi Piwek
Midwest Regional Representative (2018-2020)

Milwaukee German Immersion School
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Siggi Piwek teaches fourth grade at the Milwaukee German Immersion School in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He has been a teacher leader, serving on his school's Learning Team, the Governance Council, and as Treasurer and President of the German Immersion Foundation. Siggi is an active member and presenter at his state and regional foreign language teacher conferences and at ACTFL, and also provides workshops to other German language teachers as a member of the Goethe-Institute Trainernetzwerk.


Johanna Watzinger-Tharp
Northwest Regional Representative (2016-2018)

University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp is Associate Professor, with a tenure appointment in the Department of Linguistics, Associate Dean for international and interdisciplinary program development, and Director of International Studies at the University of Utah. In 2010, Johanna founded the Utah German Task Force to advocate for dual language immersion programs in German.
Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub