Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

First Encounters Student Contest Entries Due

Member Accolades

Board of Directors

Susanne Rinner
President (2018-2019)

Seattle, Washington

Susanne Rinner is a teacher-scholar and language advocate. She was Associate Professor of German Studies and Director of Undergraduate Studies in German at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro from 2007 to 2019 where she taught German and German Studies courses at all levels. Currently, she is the principal of the German Language School in Seattle. With a focus on twentieth century and contemporary German literature, film and culture, her interdisciplinary research interests include cultural memory and social movements, modern language pedagogy, and curriculum development. Susanne enjoys working closely with students in and outside the classroom. With her scholarship and teaching, she contributes to the mission of the liberal arts in higher education and promotes language learning as a key to equity, diversity, and global exchange. Susanne has received numerous awards recognizing her scholarship, teaching, and service, including the AATG Friend of German Award.

Doug Philipp
Vice President (2018-2019)

Cheyenne Mountain High School
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Doug Philipp teaches German at Cheyenne Mountain High School in Colorado Springs, Colorado. He has been vice president, president, and currently is secretary/treasurer for the Colorado/Wyoming chapter. He serves as co-chair for the annual Colorado Sprachbad, is a member of TraiNDaF 2003, and has led numerous student trips to Germany. In 2017, Doug received the ACTFL Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLT (K–12).

Anthony Jannotta
Treasurer (2019-2021)

Centerville and Landisville Middle Schools
Landisville, Pennsylvania

Tony Jannotta has taught German at the middle school level for the past 14 years. After completing his Bachelor’s Degree in German and Education from Millersville University, he completed his M.A. in German there as well. He is also certified in English as a Second Language and has a Principal Certification. As an 8th grade teacher at both middle schools in the Hempfield School District, he has led multiple trips to Germany for his students though GAPP. He credits his team of excellent German teachers at Hempfield for helping the district achieve noteworthy accomplishments such as the German Center of Excellence Award (2013). In 2016, Tony was awarded the K-8 Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award.

Ingrid Zeller
Presiding Officer Assembly of Chapter Presidents (2019-2021)

Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois

Ingrid Zeller teaches German courses at all levels and directs the German Writing Center at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. She is president of the Northern Illinois chapter, where she has been active in many capacities. She serves as an AATG consultant, has been an item-writer for the National German Exam, and served on the 2013 program committee for the AATG convention at ACTFL. Ingrid has received several awards, including the AATG/Goethe-Institut Certificate of Merit.

Keith Cothrun
Executive Director

Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Keith Cothrun has served as Executive Director of AATG since 2012. Prior to the position at AATG, Keith served as director of World Languages and Cultures with responsibilities for AP German Language and Culture, as well as Chinese, Japanese, and Italian Language and Culture at the College Board. A past president of AATG and ACTFL, Keith taught German for 24 years building a thriving high school program and GAPP exchange in New Mexico. He served as president of JNCL/NCLIS in 2017-2018.

Iris Bork-Goldfield
Northeast Regional Representative (2018-2020)

Wesleyan University
Middletown, Connecticut

Iris Bork-Goldfield is Adjunct Professor and Chair of German Studies, at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. Her research interests include resistance and opposition in East Germany, methods for teaching languages and literature, and short films and their use in the language classroom. Her book Wir wollten was tun was published in Germany in 2015. Iris serves in the Goethe-Institut Trainernetzwerk and as Testing Chair in the Connecticut chapter.

Candis Carey
Central Regional Representative (2017-2019)

Crown Point High School
Crown Point, Indiana

Candis Carey teaches at Crown Point High School. She has taught German levels I, II, III, and AP/dual credit. She obtained her Bachelor's degree in German Education from Purdue University in West Lafayette. Candis has attended additional German teacher training in Leipzig, Berlin, Zürich, and Vienna. She has planned GAPP exchange trips with the Taunusschule in Bad Camberg and is the German club and Sophomore Class Sponsor at her school.

Albrecht Classen
Southwest Regional Representative (2017-2019)

University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Albrecht Classen is University Distinguished Professor of German Studies at the University of Arizona. He has been actively involved in the AATG since the early 1990s when he started to serve as President of the Arizona chapter. Albrecht served on the AATG Executive Council 1996-1997 and is a member of the Goethe-Institute Trainer Netzwerk. Since 1992, he has coordinated after school German language programs at elementary schools in Tucson, supervising undergraduate students teaching 3rd to 5th graders.

Morgan Koerner
Southeast Regional Representative (2019-2021)

College of Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina

Morgan Koerner is Associate Professor of German and Chair of the Department of German and Russian Studies at the College of Charleston, South Carolina. His research focuses on drama and theater and foreign language pedagogy. Morgan organizes an annual German-American Business Summit for industry leaders and college students and the annual Lowcountry German Day for high school students. He is president of the South Carolina chapter of the AATG.

Siggi Piwek
Midwest Regional Representative (2018-2020)

Milwaukee German Immersion School
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Siggi Piwek teaches fourth grade at the Milwaukee German Immersion School in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He has been a teacher leader, serving on his school's Learning Team, the Governance Council, and as Treasurer and President of the German Immersion Foundation. Siggi is an active member and presenter at his state and regional foreign language teacher conferences and at ACTFL, and also provides workshops to other German language teachers as a member of the Goethe-Institute Trainernetzwerk.

Jennifer Roper
Northwest Regional Representative (2019-2021)

Rocky Mountain High School
Fort Collins, Colorado

Jennifer Roper teaches German at Rocky Mountain High School in Fort Collins, Colorado, where she has served as department chair of world languages. She has taught every level of German from 1A middle school through Advanced Placement. Jennifer has traveled to German speaking countries with students many times. She was President of the Colorado/Wyoming AATG chapter 2014-2018 and has received multiple honors, including the AATG/Goethe-Institut Certificate of Merit in 2014.
Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub