Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

The German Quarterly Graduate Student Essays Due

AATG Office Closed

New Orleans Convention earlybird registration

Applications due - First-Time Convention Attendee Grants

Member Accolades

News & Press: Latest News

Search for a New Editor for The German Quarterly

Monday, March 23, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

The AATG invites applications and nominations for the position of editor of The German Quarterly, a peer-reviewed journal established in 1928 and published four times a year. The German Quarterly is a premiere journal in the field of German Studies with international circulation and focuses on all topics in German literature, culture and film from the Middle Ages to the present, as well as comparative and interdisciplinary articles that are relevant to the field of German.

Candidates ideally should have an established reputation as a scholar in the field of German literature and culture, and some editorial experience.

The new editor will begin serving in Fall 2015. The initial appointment is for three years, renewable for a second term. The editorship is a voluntary position which carries no salary.

Previous editors include Robert Browning, Friederike Eigler, Bernd Fischer, Reinhold Grimm, Robert Heitner, Ruth Klüger, Susanne Kord, William Little, Dagmar C. G. Lorenz, Paul Michael Lützeler, James Henry Schmidt, and Marc A. Weiner, among others.

Those interested in the position should submit a curriculum vitae and cover statement explaining in detail their qualifications and plans for the editorship. A statement of support from their administrative dean and department chair should also be included. Minimal support would include up-to-date computers, e-mail with adequate server space for receiving electronic manuscripts, access to an outside telephone line with long distance privileges, released time, an editorial assistant, and secretarial support if possible. (In the case of nominations, please check with the candidate that s/he is willing to serve as editor.)

Copies of these materials should be sent via e-mail to the chair of the Search Committee. Any AATG member wishing to nominate a colleague for the position is encouraged to do so by notifying the Search Committee chair, Peter C. Pfeiffer, Georgetown University,

Other committee members include Karin Baumgartner, University of Utah; John McCarthy, Vanderbilt University; Robert Norton, University of Notre Dame; David Pan, UC Irvine; Simon Richter, University of Pennsylvania; and Birgit Tautz, Bowdoin College.

Applications must be received by the committee chair no later than June 15, 2015. Announcement of the editor will be made by August 2015.

Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub