Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

The German Quarterly Graduate Student Essays Due

AATG Office Closed

New Orleans Convention earlybird registration

Applications due - First-Time Convention Attendee Grants

Member Accolades

News & Press: Latest News

Austrian Cultural Forum’s 2015 Translation Prize Awarded to Tess Lewis

Monday, January 26, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: AATG
Share |
Tess Lewis, winner of the ACFNY '15 Translation Prize.
Photo: Tess Lewis
The Austrian Cultural Forum New York (ACFNY) 2015 Translation Prize has been awarded to translator, editor, and literary critic Tess Lewis.

“The jury found Tess Lewis’s text even more outstanding than a great number of excellent submissions by brilliant translators recasting a wide range of superb contemporary Austrian writers, including Josef Winkler, Clemens Setz, Friederike Mayröcker, Christoph Ransmayr, Walter Kappacher, Raoul Schrott and others,” underlined Christine Moser, the ACFNY’s Director.

An independent jury of U.S. and Austrian literary experts, publishers, and critics chose Lewis’s translation of Angel of Oblivion (Engel des Vergessens/Angel Posabe) by Slovenian-Austrian writer Maja Haderlap as the clear winner from among the submissions received.

The $5,000 Award will be presented to Ms. Lewis in the presence of Ms. Maja Haderlap on 24 March 2015 in a special literary event at the ACFNY’s Manhattan theater. Tess Lewis’s translations from French and German include works by Peter Handke, Alois Hotschnig, Julya Rabinowich, Melinda Nadj Abonji, Pascal Bruckner, and Jean-Luc Benoziglio. Since 2014, Ms. Lewis has curated Festival Neue Literature, New York City’s premiere yearly festival for German language literature in English.

Maja Haderlap’s Angel of Oblivion is a groundbreaking novel based on the author’s own family story as part of the Slovenian-speaking minority in southern Austria and that community’s struggle against the Nazis during World War II. The novel was awarded several prestigious awards including the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize, the Buchpreis der Stiftung Ravensburger Verlag, the Bruno-Kreisky-Preis für das Politische Buch, and the Rauris Literature Prize.

Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub