Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

AATG Office Closed

AATG Office Closed

Abstracts due for 2019 SCOLT

Member Accolades

News & Press: Latest News

German Teachers Receive Awards

Tuesday, November 26, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: AATG
Share |

The American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) recognized fifteen teachers of German and four German programs for their outstanding contributions to the teaching and learning of German in the US. The 2013 awards recipients were recognized at a special presentation in conjunction with their annual convention held on November 23 in Orlando, Florida.

Nikolaus Euba, Language Program Coordinator and Lecturer in German at the University of California Berkeley, and Gabriele Verhoeven, German teacher at Wiley International Elementary School, Raleigh, North Carolina, received AATG’s highest honor, the Outstanding German Educator Award. This award is presented in recognition of excellence in teaching and outstanding contributions to the German teaching profession. The award is accompanied by the Friedrich-Gerstäcker-Travel Grant sponsored by Checkpoint Charlie Foundation in Berlin.

Adrian P. Kendall, Honorary Consul of the Federal Republic of Germany to Maine and New Hampshire, and Susanne Rinner, Associate Professor of German at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, received the Friend of German Award, which recognizes exemplary leadership in the advocacy of German and German language education.

"The teachers honored with this year’s awards represent the best in our profession. With so many dynamic thriving German programs, the selection committee really had a difficult task. We are fortunate to have so many excellent German teachers,” said Angelika Becker, chair of the awards committee.

Four German programs were recognized as AATG German Centers of Excellence. This designation is presented to well-established and growing German programs with demonstrated excellence in instruction and strong support from administration, professional colleagues, alumni, and students. This year’s K-12 recipients are Bay Area Kinderstube Plus in Albany, California, and Robinson Secondary School in Fairfax, Virginia. College/university recipients are the Department of German Studies at the University of Arizona in Tucson, and the German School at Middlebury College in Middlebury, Vermont.  

Rustin Buck of Clements High School in Sugar Land, Texas, Amy Flynn of Bear Creek High School in Lakewood, Colorado, and Melanie Mello of St. Joseph High School in South Bend, Indiana received the German Embassy Teacher of Excellence Award. The Embassy recognizes up-and-coming German teachers for excellence in teaching, creativity, and outstanding dedication. Honorees receive financial support for study in Germany.  

Six educators were recognized with the Goethe-Institut / AATG Certificate of Merit for their achievements in furthering the teaching of German. 2013 awardees are: Cathy Altmeyer, Instructor of German at Washington and Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania; Katharina Barbe, Chair of the Department of Foreign Languages and Literature at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Illinois; Katharina Häusler-Gross, Associate Professor of German at Aquinas College in Grand Rapids, Michigan; Angelika Kraemer, Associate Director, Center for Language Teaching Advancement at Michigan State University in East Lansing; and Carmen Terry, Principal Lecturer in German at the University of North Texas in Denton.  

"Students of German are so lucky to have such dedicated teachers! Recognizing the accomplishments of these fine teachers is truly the highlight of our convention,” said Kathy Fegely, president of the American Association of Teachers of German.  

The AATG Intercultural Student Experiences Language Matters Award was presented to Linda Horvath from Charlotte Catholic School in Charlotte, North Carolina. The award recognizes a high school teacher of German who provides immersion experiences and motivates students to use the language outside the classroom.

Also recognized for their contributions to the scholarly publications of the AATG were Adrian Daub of Stanford University, recipient of the Max Kade Award for Best Article in The German Quarterly, and Karin Baumgartner of the University of Utah in Salt Lake City for the Best Article Award in Die Unterrichtspraxis/Teaching German.

Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub