Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

Applications due - First-Time Convention Attendee Grants

Deutsch macht Spaß grant applications due

Abstracts due for 2019 SCOLT

Member Accolades

News & Press: Latest News

Wir gratulieren! AATG members receive awards

Tuesday, November 21, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: AATG
Share |

AATG recognized 16 teachers and two German programs for their outstanding contributions to the teaching and learning of German in the US. The 2017 award recipients were recognized at a special presentation in conjunction with the AATG annual convention held in Nashville, Tennessee.

Angelika Becker, teacher of German at Carmel High School in Indianapolis, Indiana; Christina Frei, Executive Director of Language Instruction for the School of Arts and Sciences and Academic Director and Chair of the Penn Language Center at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; and Ginger Starks-Yoble, teacher of German at Westfield Middle School, Omaha, Nebraska, received AATG’s highest honor, the Outstanding German Educator Award. This award is presented in recognition of excellence in teaching and outstanding contributions to the German teaching profession. 

Rosmarie Morewedge, Binghamton University, New York, received the Friend of German Award, which recognizes exemplary leadership in the advocacy of German and German language education.

“With gratitude, we recognize the achievements of our outstanding AATG members, who excel in providing German language instruction to a wide range of learners across the United States,” said Hal Boland, president of the American Association of Teachers of German.

Two German programs were recognized as AATG German Centers of Excellence. This designation is presented to well-established and growing German programs with demonstrated excellence in instruction and strong support from administration, professional colleagues, alumni, and students. This year’s K-12 recipient is East Brunswick School District, East Brunswick, New Jersey. Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, is this year’s college/university recipient. 

Rachel Becker, Ben Franklin High School in New Orleans, Louisiana; Alysha Holmquist, Enumclaw High School in Enumclaw, Washington; and Jeffrey Luppes, Indiana University South Bend, received the German Embassy Teacher of Excellence Award. The Embassy recognizes up-and-coming German teachers for excellence in teaching, creativity, and outstanding dedication.

Amanda Sheffer, Catholic University of America in Washington, DC, received the FL-A-CH Award for excellence in the teaching of the language and cultures of Austria, the German-speaking areas of Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and South Tyrol.

Lisa Werner, Bozeman High School in Bozeman, Montana, and Kathleen Condray, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, received the Checkpoint Charlie Foundation Teacher Award, which recognizes outstanding teachers of German who strengthen intercultural understanding. 

Three educators were recognized with the Goethe-Institut/AATG Certificate of Merit for their achievements in furthering the teaching of German. 2017 awardees are: Michael Antley, Woodinville High School, Woodinville, Washington; Regine Criser, University of North Carolina–Asheville, North Carolina; and William Gregory, Sequoia Middle School, Pleasant Hill, California. 

Also recognized for their contributions to the scholarly publications of the AATG were Salvatore Pappalardo, Towson University, Towson, Maryland, recipient of the Max Kade Award for Best Article in The German Quarterly; David O. Neville, Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa, for the Best Article in Die Unterrichtspraxis/Teaching German Award; and Jonathan S. Martin, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, for The German Quarterly Graduate Student Paper Award.

AATG members were recognized for their accomplishments by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL). Karin Baumgartner, University of Utah, received the ACTFL Nelson Brooks Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Culture. The ACTFL Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLT (K–12) went to Doug Philipp, Cheyenne Mountain High School, Colorado Springs, Colorado. The ACTFL-NYSAFLT Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education was presented to Christina Frei, University of Pennsylvania. 

Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub