Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

The German Quarterly Graduate Student Essays Due

7/4/2019 » 7/5/2019
AATG Office closed

Washington DC Convention earlybird registration

Applications due - First-Time Convention Attendee Grants

Member Accolades

Search for a New Editor for Die Unterrichtspraxis/Teaching German

The AATG invites applications and nominations for the position of editor of Die Unterrichtspraxis/ Teaching German, a peer-reviewed journal established in 1968 and published twice a year. Die Unterrichtspraxis is a premiere journal which promotes and supports excellence and innovation in the teaching of German language, literature, and culture in North America at all levels. The journal embraces both the practical and the theoretical to insure that practitioners are kept abreast of trends in education, language teaching, research, and learning materials.

Candidates ideally should have an established reputation as a scholar in the field of German language education with some editorial experience. Previous editors include Glenn S. Levine, Walter Lohnes, Thomas A. Lovik, Jeff Mellor, George F. Peters, Renate A. Schulz, David Weible, and Gerhard Weiss, among others.

The initial appointment is for a three year term to begin in January 2017 and is renewable for a second term. Transition work will begin in Fall 2016. The editorship is a voluntary position which carries no salary.

Those interested in the position should submit a curriculum vitae and cover statement explaining in detail their qualifications and plans for the editorship. A statement of support from their administrative dean and department chair should also be included. Minimal support would include up-to-date computers, e-mail with adequate server space for receiving electronic manuscripts, access to an outside telephone line with long distance privileges, released time, an editorial assistant, and secretarial support if possible.

Copies of these materials should be sent via e-mail to the chair of the Search Committee. Any AATG member wishing to nominate a colleague for the position is encouraged to do so by contacting the Search Committee chair, Hiram Maxim, Emory University,

Other committee members include Carlee Arnett, University of California, Davis; Peter Ecke, University of Arizona; Glenn Levine, University of California, Irvine; Franziska Lys, Northwestern University; Charlotte Melin, University of Minnesota; Zehra Otus, College Park High School; and Erwin Tschirner, Universität Leipzig.  

Applications must be received by the committee chair no later than June 15, 2016. Announcement of the editor will be made by August 2016.

Sign In

Latest News

Advocacy Hub