Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

10/2/2017 » 12/15/2017
NGE Level 2, 3, 4 Registration

12/16/2017 » 1/22/2018
NGE Level 2, 3, 4 Late Registration

12/22/2017 » 1/1/2018
AATG Office Closed

1/4/2018 » 1/7/2018
MLA Convention

Member Accolades

Executive Council
Hal Boland
President (2016-2017)

Heritage High School
Leesburg, Virginia

Hal Boland teaches and has chaired curriculum development for German at Heritage High School, a designated PASCH-Schule, and maintains an active GAPP exchange. Hal serves on the National German Exam commission, and has served on the SAT German testing committee, and as Question Leader for AP German. He has presented many workshops regionally and nationally, and is a member of the Goethe-Institut Trainernetzwerk.


Susanne Rinner
Vice President (2016-2017)

University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, North Carolina

Susanne Rinner is Associate Professor of German at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She serves currently as program director of UNCG's German Program, associate head of UNCG's Department of Languages, Literatures, and Languages, and faculty coordinator of an award-winning living-learning community, The Global Village. Susanne has received numerous awards recognizing her teaching and service, including the AATG Friend of German Award.


Katrina Griffin
Treasurer (2016-2018)

North County High School
Glen Burnie, Maryland

Katrina Griffin teaches at North County High School in Glen Burnie, Maryland. She is a board member and past president of the Maryland-DC Metro AATG chapter and serves as a board member for the Maryland Foreign Language Association. She has written county curriculum guides and assessments for all levels of German and served on the National German Exam committee. A consultant for the College Board, Katrina is a Table Leader for the AP German Exam.


Cindi Hodgdon
Presiding Officer Assembly of Chapter Presidents (2016-2018)

Conval High School
Peterborough, New Hampshire

Cindi Hodgdon teaches German 1 through AP at Conval High School in Peterborough, New Hampshire, where she also leads the student exchange program to Salzburg, Austria. Cindi was named Rotary Teacher of the Year by her school district in 2015. She is president of the Northern New England chapter of AATG and has organized an immersion weekend for chapter members, dinner meetings for teachers, and an immersion day for students.


Keith Cothrun
Executive Director

Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Keith Cothrun was named Executive Director of AATG in January 2012. Prior to the position at AATG, Keith served as director of World Languages and Cultures with responsibilities for AP German Language and Culture, as well as Chinese, Japanese, and Italian Language and Culture at the College Board. A past president of AATG and ACTFL, Keith taught German for 24 years building a thriving high school program and GAPP exchange in New Mexico. He currently serves as president of JNCL/NCLIS


Joan Campbell
Northeast Regional Representative (2015-2017)

Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School
Sudbury, Massachusetts

Joan Campbell has been teaching German at Lincoln Sudbury Regional High School since 2003. She is World Language Department Coordinator, advises the German Club, and coordinates the GAPP exchange with Gymnasium Vilshofen in Niederbayern. She is a member of the German SAT II Testing Committee for ETS and is a frequent presenter at both the Massachusetts Foreign Language Association and AATG/ACTFL conferences.


Candis Carey
Central Regional Representative (2017-2019)

Crown Point High School
Crown Point, Indiana

Candis Carey teaches at Crown Point High School. She has taught German levels I, II, III, and AP/dual credit for the last seven years at Portage High School and two years before that at North White High School in Indiana. She obtained her Bachelor's degree in German Education from Purdue University in West Lafayette. Candis has attended additional German teacher training in Leipzig, Berlin, Zürich, and Vienna. She has planned GAPP exchange trips with the Taunusschule in Bad Camberg, offered an EF Tour, and is the German club and Sophomore Class Sponsor at her school.


Albrecht Classen
Southwest Regional Representative (2017-2019)

University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Albrecht Classen is University Distinguished Professor of German Studies at the University of Arizona. He has been heavily involved in the AATG since the early 1990s when he started to serve as President of the Arizona chapter. He has also served on the AATG Executive Council 1996-1997 and has been a member of the Goethe-Institute Trainer Netzwerk for many years. Since 1992, he has coordinated two afterschool German language programs at elementary schools in Tucson, supervising undergraduate students teaching 3rd to 5th graders.


Beth Gulewich
Southeast Regional Representative (2016-2018)

Needham B. Broughton High School
Raleigh, North Carolina

Beth Gulewich teaches levels 1-5, AP, and IB German at Needham B. Broughton High School in Raleigh, North Carolina. There she maintains an active GAPP program with the Erasmus Gymnasium in Raleigh's Sister City, Rostock. From 2011-2014, Beth led the North Carolina AATG chapter as vice president and president with the initiative "Supporting and Strengthening German in North Carolina", which focused on STEM and articulation between K-12 and college programs.


Susanne Wagner
Midwest Regional Representative (2015-2017)

University of St. Thomas
St. Paul, Minnesota

Susanne Wagner is Assistant Professor of German and Section Coordinator at the University of St. Thomas. She is a cultural and literary historian focusing on 19th and 20th-century Germany with a research emphasis on resistance to Hitler and interest in foreign language acquisition and drama pedagogy. Susanne has held leadership positions on the state and regional level including AATG/GI mentor, Minnesota AATG chapter testing chair, and Arkansas AATG chapter president.


Johanna Watzinger-Tharp
Northwest Regional Representative (2016-2018)

University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp is Associate Professor, with a tenure appointment in the Department of Linguistics, Associate Dean for international and interdisciplinary program development, and Director of International Studies at the University of Utah. In 2010, Johanna created the Utah German Task Force to advocate for German to be added to the Utah dual language immersion programs.
Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News

Advocacy Hub