Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search

IDT 2017 proposals and earlybird deadline

GLSC Conference

11/14/2016 » 11/18/2016
International Education Week

11/18/2016 » 11/20/2016
2016 Convention in Boston

Member Accolades

Member Accolades
Publish a book, win an award, receive special recognition, or know someone who has? Help us recognize member achievement by letting us know.

Congratulations to the following AATG members!


Janie Barner - German-American Friendship Award from the German Embassy in Washington, DC

Claudia A. Becker - awarded membership in P.E.N.-Zentrum deutschsprachiger Autoren im Ausland

Art Beckman and Pat Branson - members of the Department of Foreign Languages & Literature at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, which was selected to receive the 2016 University-wide Departmental Teaching Award

Kate Falvey - Iowa World Language Association Educator of the Year and finalist for CSCTFL (Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages) Teacher of the Year

Katrina Griffin - NECTFL (Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages) Teacher of the Year and finalist for ACTFL Teacher of the Year

Katrina Griffin - Finalist for Maryland Teacher of the Year

Maria Herman  CSCTFL Goethe-Institute Scholarship

Deborah Horzen - Florida Foreign Language Association Teacher of the Year and finalist for SCOLT (Southern Conference on Language Teaching) Teacher of the Year

Siggi Piwek - Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellowship Award

Siggi Piwek - Wisconsin Foreign Language Teacher of the Year and finalist for ACTFL Teacher of the Year


Sabine Beirold - Wisconsin ISE Language Matters Award

Cynthia Chalupa & Heiko ter Haseborg - NECTFL Stephen A. Freeman Award for Best Published Article on Language Teaching Techniques 2015

Kate Falvey
- CSCTFL Goethe-Institute Scholarship

Karen L. Fowdy
- WAFLT Distinguished Language Educator 2014

Carla Ghanem
- SWCOLT Arizona Teacher of the Year Candidate

Katrina Griffin - Maryland Foreign Language Association Teacher of the Year 2015

Kristin Kuchenbecker and Kamden Dibley - Best Presentation of South Dakota Award at the South Dakota World Languages Association Conference

Beth Gulewich - Broughton High School Teacher of the Year Award 2015

Goethe-Institut Chicago
- WAFLT Anthony J. Gradisnik Award 2014

Lucas Gravitt -
SCOLT Goethe-Institut Scholarship

Sabine Harvey
- Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching, University of Texas at Arlington

Audrey Joyner
- Fairfax, Virginia Rotary Outstanding Teacher of the Year 2015

Lindsey Klein
- Recipient of a Hamilton Education Foundation Halquist Technology Grant to create a Language Lab

Antonela Kljajic
- FLAG P-12 Teacher of Promise Award

Michael Koch
- WAFLT Recognition of Merit Award 2015

Bobbette Leu-Timmermann
- WAFLT Recognition of Merit Award 2014

Gil Manalli published his memoir Herr Mister Manalli: My Year as a Fulbright Exchange Teacher in a German School, 1957-58

Laura A. McLary - Professor of the Year Award, The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education 2015

Ali Moeller
- CSCTFL Founders Award for Professional Excellence in Language Education

Sigurd Piwek - Wisconsin Language Teacher of the Year 2015

John Pustejovsky
- WAFLT Recognition of Merit Award 2014

Sabine Smith
- SCOLT Educator of Excellence Award

Jolene Wochenske - Kohl Fellowship Award

Helene Zimmer-Loew - Received an Honorary Doctor of Letters from Middlebury Language Schools


Peter Krawutschke - elected as Honorary Advisor by the International Federation of Translators (FIT)

Bobbette Leu-Timmermann - Outstanding Teacher Award from Assumption High School, Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Frank Trommler - Received honorary degree of Doctor of Modern Languages from Middlebury College at the 100th anniversary commencement of the Middlebury Language School

Freddie Bowles - Arkansas Educator of Excellence Award

Carole Ann Dahlberg - Minnesota Professional Service Award

Marge Draheim - Wisconsin Distinguished Language Educator Award

Sabine Fleshner - Nebraska Association of Teachers of German Teacher of the Year

Melanie Mello - Indiana Rising Star Award

Kendra Omlid - Kris Wells Memorial Creativity Award

Pam Pennington - Kentucky Outstanding Teacher Award

Milwaukee German Immersion School - Donna Clementi Blue Ribbon Award for Excellence in World Language Programs

Peter Höyng, Marianne Lancaster, Hiram Maxim, Caroline Schaumann - 2014 NECTFL Stephen A. Freeman Award for Best Published Article: "Overcoming Curricular Bifurcation: A Departmental Approach to Curricular Reform," Die Unterrichtspraxis 46.1

Carol Spanier-Ladwig - Established the Spanier-Ladwig Endowed Scholarship Fund to support an annual scholarship for advanced German studies to be awarded to a member of the graduating class at Claremont High School in Claremont, California

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become a member!

Latest News

Advocacy Hub